WAMC first time applicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pawsitivevibes

Reaction score
I was just wondering if you guys think my stats are realistic for getting interviews from the schools I'm applying to. I am a CA resident who just graduated as a biology / Norwegian double major from St. Olaf and am applying this cycle.

Deans list x4
Overall GPA: 3.73
Science GPA: ~ 3.4
Last 45 GPA: 3.9
Experiences:
- Working with an equine veterinarian for artificial insemination of Icelandic horses: 800 hours
- Equine vet shadowing: 88 hours
- Small animal clinic shadowing: 200 hours
- Banfield vet assistant: 320 hours
- small animal clinic volunteer assistant: 360 hours
- dog boarding / walking / sitting through Rover: 900 hours
- doggy daycare attendant: 320 hours
- Equine therapeutic riding center volunteer: 30 hours
- 2 research labs totaling 250 hours
- Leadership: president of Food Recovery Network, treasurer of pre-vet club
- Schools I am applying to: UC Davis, Western, CSU, Ohio, Oregon, Michigan, Illinois, Midwestern, Minnesota, Washington, Glasgow, Dublin, Bristol

Members don't see this ad.

Nice overall and last 45 GPA, solid animal/vet experiences (might be considered “lower” compared to some apps - but you have a good gpa/varied experiences).

Science gpa is a little low but it’s not horrible. I believe mine was about a 3.4.

I don’t know much about the schools except Minnesota and Ohio are two great options for you to apply to based on stats.

Concerns:
No outside work involvement (important to show you’ve tried other things, have had some real life work experience)
Not much club/extracurricular involvement
Not much volunteer work?