WAMC First time applicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

groveysmom

Reaction score
Hello friends! I've looked over my stats and wanted some opinions on my chances?? I’m currently a graduate student pursing a thesis-based degree in animal science from ISU. I went off the vet school track a couple years back to pursue nutrition before realizing I’m not happy in this field and vet med is a better fit for me. The backup plan: finish my graduate degree and work as a vet assistant (or maybe a vet lab?) and reapply.

I'm applying to ISU as an in-state applicant (I'm married, spouse is in law school, so I can't leave the state). I emailed the admissions coordinator and mentioned that my vet hours are low and she said they'll look at all of my animal/research/vet hours combined. It made me feel better but I'm still suspicious if that's true.

GPA and CASPER:
• Bachelor's in animal science with a Cumulative GPA: 3.81

Graduate school GPA currently: 3.71

• Science GPA: 3.76

• Last 45 (estimate): 3.68 ?

• One bad CASPer test score ;0; I'm talkin' 1st quartile

I had 5 letters of recommendation:

◦ 2 professors I helped with research (the swine and nutrition ones below)

◦ 1 professor who was my boss when I was a peer mentor and I took genetics with

◦ My graduate biology TA boss

◦ A vet I shadowed weekly this past summer

3352 research/animal/vet experience hours (Most are research) including:

◦ Shadowing at two clinics, but limited hours (like ~100) :(. one equine and one small animal clinic. I did see a ton of interesting procedures though!

◦ Intensive graduate research for my Master’s on dairy cattle health and their GIT microbiome (includes animal handling of course. DNA extractions, using an oral stomach tube for samples, analyzing DNA sequences, etc.). I’ll be graduating with my Master’s this spring. Not related to vet/animal hours but I’m also a graduate TA for intro bio lab :)