WAMC Class of 2028

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tayspot99

Reaction score
Hi all! I posted on here previously but I'm trying to narrow down my school list for this cycle based on my stats. Looking to apply to 5-6 schools, with my IS being UFCVM.

21 y/o F, traditional, FL resident, majoring in animal science and minoring in chemistry

Overall GPA: 3.91

Science GPA: 3.86

Last 45 GPA: 4.0

Veterinary Experience:
  • 200 hours shadowing at various small animal vets in high school
  • 1000 hours working as a vet assistant at a small animal GP (started out as a volunteer and got hired after my first summer working)
  • 220 hours working as a surgical vet assistant at a specialty hospital (small animal surgery department)
  • 90 hours as a student intern at an exotic animal hospital
  • 30 hours at a wildlife rehab and rescue center when I studied abroad
  • 20 hours large animal from working with the campus veterinarian in animal science labs, and from when I worked with beef cattle
Animal Experience:
  • 500 hours volunteering/fostering/adopting out puppies from a local rescue
  • 400 hours fostering and adopting out kittens from animal control
  • 350 hours working with beef cattle on my college campus
  • 50 hours from various animal science lab classes
Research Experience:
  • 120 hours on my personal research project. I wrote and received a grant to fund my work, and presented at our student symposium
  • 50 hours on a research project while studying abroad. My partner and I set up trail cameras and baited traps to see if anthropogenic factors influenced the efficacy of the live mammal traps. We presented our findings at our student symposium.
Employment:

70 hours - Groundskeeper at a Museum and Gardens my first semester of college
1200 hours - Theatre Camp Counselor in highschool

Extracurriculars/awards/honors:

• Deans List all semesters
  • Various undergrad scholarships