WAMC c/o 2028 1st time applicant low GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hopefulishvet

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys!

I’m 24 years old, looking to apply to vet school. I graduated in 2022 with a degree in biology. My grades are pretty bad, in between university strikes (no class for long periods of time), my grandmother dying, Hurricane maria and earthquakes… it’s been hard.

So far I’m planning on applying to Ross (for obvious reasons), Florida (I was born there, not sure they take that into consideration for residency), Mississippi, Kansas, LSU, Colorado, Iowa, Wisconsin and wherever they offer grade replacement or holistic approaches to admissions (suggestions WELCOME)

Undergrad:
University of Puerto Rico
Cumulative: 3.15
Last 45 (56): 3.11

Vet experience:
800+ hours at a mass spay neuter clinic
100hrs shelter vet shadowing
Currently shadowing, should have more hours by application date.

Animal experience:
Animal shelter volunteer: 1000+ hrs
Lifetime pet ownership
Pet sitting: 1,300hrs
I am still currently volunteering at the shelters so I should have a lot more hours by application time

Research experience:
400hrs genetics, year long investigation at my home institution
400hrs summer research experience in genetics

Other employment:
1000+ hours bartending
600+ hours waitressing
4,000+ hours customer service/sales/manufacturing

Other relevant experience:
Member of prevet club: 5 years
Secretary of an animal rescue organization: 1 year
Member of 2 animal rescue organizations: 5 years
Independent dog rescue: 3 years

Plan for improvement:
Starting a year long associates in veterinary technology in august.
Volunteering at animal shelter with veterinarian
Hoping to find a job as a biologist in a laboratory

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Good research and outside employment!