Licensure by Credentials via PGY-1

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nawit

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone.

I am a 2020 grad who took the endo/prosth portion of ADEX back in fall of 2019. Due to the pandemic I did not end up taking the perio or restorative portion of the exam.

Currently I am in my second year of orthodontic residency in NY with plans to work in NY for a few years. However, I want to know my options for licensure through credentials/endorsement.

I understand that many of the forms of licensure through credential still requires previously taking some form of patient based exam. I am curious to know if anyone knows which states allow licensure by credentials even with a PGY-1 license, such as what I will receive from NY. I have tried to do some research but its so much fine print that I am having difficulty finding out which will allow w/ PGY-1 vs which do not.

If anyone has this information I would greatly appreciate it. Otherwise I will continue digging.

Thank you for your help!

Members don't see this ad.

Off head I know NY, CT, Ohio, Colorado, and I think Minnesota allow licensure via PGY-1 (I am sure I am forgetting a state, maybe AK?)

Members don't see this ad :)
Off head I know NY, CT, Ohio, Colorado, and I think Minnesota allow licensure via PGY-1 (I am sure I am forgetting a state, maybe AK?)
For CT, the form requires certain things that only a GPR resident would do, such as endo access, crown preparation etc. I guess that means if you are specializing that licensure through PGY-1 is not an option for that state?

For CT, the form requires certain things that only a GPR resident would do, such as endo access, crown preparation etc. I guess that means if you are specializing that licensure through PGY-1 is not an option for that state?

I think it would still be allowed, worth reaching out to the board.