How much DPM really make?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

premed8880

Reaction score
Good day,

A question for practicing podiatrists. I hope for your help!

I recently registered on the forum, and I did not find such information for DPM. I am a premed student and I would like to become a doctor. In college, I have a combined major in social sciences and biology. I have been in contact with both MD and DPM and with doctors of law JD. The fact is that now I see myself in both specialties, but the medical field seems more interesting.

However, I am confused by the fact of the salary. One DPM said that the PA receives the same or even more compensation with for 2 years of study with a much smaller debt, but I like podiatry for its surgical part.

According to some websites like usnews, JD and DPM are ranked on the 17th, 18th place, respectively, with an average salary of about 125,000. How I understand because of prospective jobs which with JD according to them have 35 times more. At the same time, the optometrist receives 117,000 according to their data. That is, the difference is small, on the forum I found this thread(How much do optometrists REALLY make? A case study) which says that the OD takes home only about 40,000-45000 after taxes, insurance and a loan.