Using DPM for Non-Podiatry Stuff!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HalluxSlicer

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!!

I am a 4th year pod student with clinical rotations and externships underway. As I am actively involved in podiatric clinic and OR surgeries, I've realized that it does not give me the excitement of being in healthcare nor the satisfaction I have thought of. Instead, rotating as well as interacting with other services such as Emergency Medicine, Anesthesiology, and even Pathology has sparked my interest! I am super excited of this discovery and would like to pursue these specialty instead. Plus, I feel like I shine as a student in all non-podiatry services and actually struggle with pimps as well as pathologies in podiatry.

So my question is, do any of you here on the forum have ideas how I can apply to residencies or even specialty services outside of Podiatry? Any help would be super duper appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

• Sad
Reactions: 1 user
Your only options would be to pursue another degree/career. The DPM degree is worthless outside of the clinical setting of being a podiatrist. The good news to look forward to is that you WILL be referred to as DOCTOR…
Example: “I need you to trim a bit more and smooth that corner down a bit more, doctor”

• Haha
Reactions: 4 users
At year 4, you're basically married to this degree. You can flirt with EM and Path but leaving your marriage at this stage will be too costly.

Sorry.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Pretty sure this is a troll post.

Unless a DPM gets all the way thru DPM school and doesnt realise its not the same as MD/DO upon graduation.

Go to PA school if it isnt a troll. Then you can work in ER in 2 years time.

Not a troll post based on history of previous replies. Just extremely out of touch.

There are a few problems with your idea Halluxslicer.