Do i even have a chance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

psurge24

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here are the cold facts, 3.1 sgpa, 3.47 cgpa. Scoring 500s on practice exams, I'm a month out from sitting for the actual exam. I have over 200 hours of volunteering and about 40 hours of shadowing. Should i stop dreaming and take a different path? I m working hard to do well and i really want to become a doctor. I graduated last semester and i don't know what to do to add to my application to make it better.

Members don't see this ad.

Try doing a post-bacc program or masters program that can link you into DO school! Your stats aren't too bad, you just need to do some searching and apply very broadly.

Find a post-bacc or masters program that doesn't require an MCAT or accepts those with low MCATs in order to boost your scores. Many programs offer MCAT classes and if they don't, being in a post-bacc or masters will certainly refresh you on content and teach you test taking skills necessary to do well on the MCAT. Regarding your GPA, a post-bacc or masters will help in bringing that up as long as you do well.

Search really hard and find a program that would work well for you, your stats, and any other circumstances that you may have and do it ASAP. Send emails, make calls, etc.

Don't give up on your dreams, dude. There are so many different paths to get into the field of medicine and they're not all so linear, but it's FINE. you will get there if you work hard enough to get there. You got it

Reactions: 1 user
Another suggestion would to maybe find research internships so you can get some research experience under your belt, it might help. Just search.

Members don't see this ad :)