Urogynecology/FPMRS Oral Exam/Certifying Exam Study Guide Tips and Scoring

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anonperson

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I recently took and passed the urogynecology/FPMRS oral exam (certifying exam). This applies to a relatively small subset of people but I wanted to at least write how I studied/resources used, general thoughts on the exam and the scoring system. I won't discuss any specific topics/questions from the exam.

Study Material:

Exampro offers some of the following resources that I purchased and used
-Thesis review
-Mock orals
-Case list review

I had signed up for both. I sent them my thesis and initially they had someone willing to review it who later back out claiming they did not feel knowledgeable enough to offer a review. They basically let me know this only a week or two before the deadline to submit. I did get a refund but I was unhappy with how this was handled because it put me in a tough spot.

The case list review was adequate. I think the case list review from ExamPro for the general boards was superior.

I did 3 mock orals with them, all with the same physician. She was fine. Gave some reasonable tips and it was better than nothing. I used ExamPro for my general OBGYN boards and felt that was a much better process, including the mock orals.

Overall, Exampro has limited help for people taking the urogynecology/FPMRS certifying exam in my opinion.

America's OBGYN Board Review Course
They offered the following that I purchased and used

-Thesis review
-Structured cases
-Statistics structured cases
-Statistics pre recorded lecture
-FAQs for the Oral exam (binder)

The thesis review was reasonable. I ended up using them at the last minute due to the issue with ExamPro. Overall the reviewer gave some helpful comments/critiques.