UC Davis RURAL PRIME vs. Dartmouth vs. OHSU

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MedSchoolApplic

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was accepted to UC Davis's Rural PRIME program, Dartmouth & OHSU, which has been an incredible and amazing surprise since I started the process just hoping to get in anywhere. Now, I'm not sure which one I should go to. I really liked Davis when I visited- all the faculty & staff seemed really supportive and the students I met all seemed like people I'd love to hang out with. As for Dartmouth, I really liked the students I met, as well as the campus & hospital, but I'm a CA resident who's nervous about being far/cold/massively in debt compared to a UC. OHSU is a great school that I felt somewhat uncomfortable at & would also be the most expensive but everyone keeps telling me what an amazing city Portland is.

I'm pretty sure I want to do my residency in CA & ultimately work in CA, and have been told Davis would be the better place to go for that but at the same time, if I'm going to spend the rest of my life in CA, I'd like to be able to go to med school somewhere else & experience that. Also, while I'm super excited about the RURAL-PRIME program, I've become increasingly attached to LA (where I've lived for the past 5 years) & wondering if I'd want to practice in an urban area.

This question has turned out to be a lot longer than I thought it would...I guess I would just appreciate any thoughts people may have & input from people who are currently at Davis, OHSU or Dartmouth? :confused:

Members don't see this ad.

Hey there,

I've looked at 2 of your 3 and can lend my thoughts on those--although your post makes it sound like you are leaning towards Davis. :) Feel free to PM me for more thoughts.

Dartmouth:
I liked the small class size, rural location, and emphasis on good teaching here. I liked the access to hiking, skiing, etc.