Trying for a second application cycle, WAMC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MrNonsuch

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I am working on my application for the 2024-2025 application cycle after having applied last cycle and I'm looking for some advice on making a school list/what my best move is for the upcoming year. I am currently volunteering at my town's food pantry every week, and working full time in an emergency room as a technician. This cycle I received 3 II (Cooper Rowan, Rutgers NJMS, Perelman School of Med) and am on the normal waitlist at Rutgers NJMS (I am an NJ resident). I think my main weaknesses the last cycle were my school list (embarrassingly I only applied to only six schools), as well as my low service hours and my interview skills. Plenty of things to improve on lol. I have placed the aspects of my application below, with things that are new on my application marked.

My stats are 3.92 GPA/3.92 sGPA, 518 MCAT.

Extracurriculars are as follows:
Pharmacy tech: 11/2022-05/2023 (200 hours)
Anatomy and Physiology TA: 01/2022-12/2022 (120 hours)
Chemistry Research Assistant: 10/2021-08/2022 (197 hours)
Shadowing 05/2021-01/2023 (130 Hours)
Weight lifting 09/2015-05/2023 (2500 hours)
Drawing and Painting 09/2006-05/2023 (1500 hours)
Emergency Department Technician 06/2023-06/2024 (1820 hours) *NEW
Food Pantry Volunteer 03/2020-03/2020 (40 hours), 12/2023 - 06/2024 (96 hours) *NEW
MISC volunteering (trail maintenance crews/town events) 10/2022-04/2023 (24 hours) *NEW (did not list last time I was self conscious about hours)

I have also been studying Spanish and have reached roughly intermediate proficiency, which I am getting evaluated to put on my app.

Recommendation letters from:
Art Professor, Pre-med advisor/professor, A&P course director, Surgeon I shadowed, Doctor I currently work with, and hopefully from volunteer coordinator for this upcoming cycle.