Looking for Advice on a Second Application Cycle

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

user5882

Reaction score
Hello!
I am seeking some advice about a reapplication cycle after my first cycle didn’t go the way I had hoped. Here are some of my stats to assist in your response:

MCAT: 518
GPA: 3.96
Major: Biochemistry
Minor: Chemistry
Publications: 1 at the time of application (not first author) and 3 more since my application (not first author).
Research: 300 Hours at the time of application (150 more since then)
Shadowing: 25 hours
Volunteering: 200 hours
Clinical Hours: 75
Leadership: 50 hours

I sent my primary in as early as possible and filled out all of my secondaries within two weeks of receiving them. I am an Ohio resident but attend the University of Illinois.

Here is a list of schools I applied to in my first application cycle: Carle Illinois College of Medicine, Case Western Reserve University, Duke, Indiana University, Northeast Ohio Medical University, Ohio State, Perelman School of Medicine, Robert Larner, M.D., College of Medicine at the University of Vermont, Stanford, The University of Toledo, University of California, Los Angeles David Geffen School of Medicine, University of Cincinnati, University of Colorado, University of Illinois College of Medicine, University of Iowa, University of Louisville, University of Maryland, University of Michigain, University of Minnesota, University of Pittsburg, University of Wisconsin, Vanderbilt, WashU, and Wright State University.