States that consider veterans in-state for tuition purposes without gi bill (need post-bacc courses)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CGtoDentistry

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey fellow vets. As stated in the title, does anyone know states that will consider a veteran an in-state student for tuition purposes WITHOUT using the GI Bill? Like many of us here, I'm a career changer. I studied Electrical Engineering & Computer Science at the undergraduate level, and need a few health courses to be eligible for dental school. I'd prefer to save my GI Bill for dental school, as that is the better financial use of the entitlement.

Has anyone else gone this route from a post-bacc perspective and have any guidance or insight?

Members don't see this ad.

Hey fellow vets. As stated in the title, does anyone know states that will consider a veteran an in-state student for tuition purposes WITHOUT using the GI Bill? Like many of us here, I'm a career changer. I studied Electrical Engineering & Computer Science at the undergraduate level, and need a few health courses to be eligible for dental school. I'd prefer to save my GI Bill for dental school, as that is the better financial use of the entitlement.

Has anyone else gone this route from a post-bacc perspective and have any guidance or insight?

I was primarily only able to find info as it related to using the GI Bill and enrolling within 3 years of discharge.

I was able to find something about University of Mississippi though...

I also found this: refer to pages 3 and 4...

Hope these help or others chime in if they know of anything.

You can also consider Vocational Rehab and Employment (VRE), which is Chapter 31 if you qualify with a service connected VA rating.

If i'm not mistaken there is a federal law in effect that requires all public schools to provide instate tuition to veterans.