Starting salary/ASTRO/ARRO Terry Wall

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BobbyHeenan

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Our group is looking at replacing a retiring physician and trying to get some objective data. We obviously understand lots of things go into account in coming up with a recruitment package, but when I was a resident Terry Wall's data was helpful. I participated in his surveys and found his lectures excellent.

Would anyone be willing to share any figures he presented this year for ASTRO/ARRO?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
I went to the session and wrote down the average starting salaries for private practice. Of note, he said he got ~50% response rate.
Median- 325k
Mean- 362k

Hope that helps

Reactions: 1 user
It was around 1 million starting.

1331617_1.jpg

url

Reactions: 1 user
Our group is looking at replacing a retiring physician and trying to get some objective data. We obviously understand lots of things go into account in coming up with a recruitment package, but when I was a resident Terry Wall's data was helpful. I participated in his surveys and found his lectures excellent.

Would anyone be willing to share any figures he presented this year for ASTRO/ARRO?

Thanks.

I believe the unlikely possibility of buying the retiring partner out was mentioned. Has anybody actually heard of this happening for a newly graduated resident? What would a typical buy-out cost?

I'm not sure I understand what you mean but I'm curious. You mean like just offer a full partnership position to a new graduate who they have never met or worked with for a certain amount of money (which would obviously have to be far more than the buy in for when partnership is offered after 3 years)?

I've never heard of such a thing but hey for the right price I guess anything is possible (no idea where a new grad would get that kind of cash though).