Seeking a Residency Transfer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hotwasabi

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

It has been a long-time since I have posted here. I am looking for some advice and help, and as the title describes, I am seeking a transfer for a residency position.

I am currently in the unenviable position of needing a new residency position.

Some background information: I graduated from a top 10 college, and top 20 medical school. I applied and matched to residency, in a competitive specialty.

Unfortunately, there have been quite a few issues out of my control, and my program has taken the decision to terminate my employment.

I was given some inconsistent information regarding remediation, probation, suspension, and ultimately termination. My program has refused to help me out in any way.

When I was applying to residency I never expected to need to transfer or re-apply.

Wondering, if anyone had thoughts or suggestions on this situation. Is it feasible to transfer to a different program, when your old program has terminated you and refused to give a letter of reference? Can I sue my former program for wrongful termination? Is it feasible to take credit earned for your past program and apply to a new program?

Thanks for your info and advice.

Members don't see this ad.

First, I'm sorry you're going through this. While you're working on a plan for what comes next in your career, make sure you take care of yourself and get help if you need it.

Your post history isn't helpful - your last post was 2015 when you were still applying to medical school.