Questions on GMOs and Experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mike97

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m a senior year premed, and I’m looking into the HPSP (I’ve met with an Air Force recruiter, but would be open to any branch). I’ve been trying to read up on the forums here, but would like some clarification with things. So, what concerns me with going the military route is a lot of the negative stories I’ve read with people doing GMOs, and overall getting little experience when compared to a civilian route.

1) Correct me if I’m wrong here... is a GMO just something you do if you don’t match in a residency?

2) Once you match in a residency and are in your specialty, are you doing more medicine? Do you find it difficult to get experience? (for reference I would be interested in emergency medicine)

3) I’m currently a firefighter-emt would be interested in pre-hospital-ish type medicine (I realize you wouldn’t be a medic though). Something like the SOST and SORT look really interesting. Is this something you can apply to do or is it more being in the right place at the right time?

Thank you for the help!!

Members don't see this ad.

1) All GMOs have completed at least an internship (1st year of residency). After their first year some choose to be a GMO or flight surgeon, some reapply to residency but don't get selected and are essentially forced into a GMO tour.
2) Don't know what you mean by "doing more medicine"... as compared to what? But military programs do suffer from a lack of certain types of cases, whether that be older people, trauma, little kids, etc., it varies from program to program. To compensate, they send individuals out to civilian programs to train part time.