Pathology vs. Lab Animal Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sami_21

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a 3rd-year vet student and am on the fence about pursuing a pathology or lab animal residency. Can someone who has done either please give their opinion on the application process, the program as a whole, and their experience? What were boards like? Did you go in straight after graduation or work GP for a few years?
I'm considering the following programs:
UGA, Emory, UC Davis, Illinois, and UF

Many thanks in advance from a confused and anxious student worried about the next 1.5 year 🙃

Members don't see this ad.

Pathology is outside of the match and internships are not required, so the application process is fairly straightforward. Positions get posted on the ACVP and ASVCP websites in the fall (August-ish), you send in a letter of intent, CV, transcripts, and letters of rec. Programs review, and make offers to applicants until positions get filled. Most offers are in Sept to Oct. Grades are important, but path is a very small field, so your experiences in the field and letters of recommendation are probably more important, imo.