Non-Traditional Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JB1337

Reaction score
So, I'm a non-traditional student who's been in college off and on for the past 13 years. At my current college I am holding a 3.6 GPA, but my I have a 2.91 at my previous college due to being in the military and not being able to be fully immersed in my classes. I currently have no clinical and shadowing hours. I know I want to be a DO. Should I take a GAP year after graduation, and get those hours in. Should I do a Post Bacc? Any and all helpful suggestions are going to be taken into account.

Members don't see this ad.

Not enough info from this post.

What is your cGPA, sGPA, MCAT, extracurriculars, any type of medical experience, reason for wanting to be a DO.

Respond with the above stats and we can help point you to a better answer.

Lastly, Thank you for your service.

Reactions: 1 user
Not enough info from this post.

What is your cGPA, sGPA, MCAT, extracurriculars, any type of medical experience, reason for wanting to be a DO.

Respond with the above stats and we can help point you to a better answer.

Lastly, Thank you for your service.
My cGPA is 3.6, sGPA is 3.4. I currently still have 1.5 years left of my biological sciences degree to increase both my cGPA and sGPA. I was planning to take the MCAT in September. Currently my ECs are school clubs, i've been trying to get clinical experience but I feel that since i'm older than my counterparts, I am more likely being passed up on those positions. I have 0 medical experience except from BLS/CLS that the military requires us to have. My reason for wanting to be a DO over MD is that I want to focus more on preventative approach while emphasizing the musculoskeletal system.

Members don't see this ad :)