Non-Traditional student applying 2021-2022

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shampoodler

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm looking for some feedback far in advance for the best ways to round out my application. I am a postdoctoral fellow doing cancer research, and I completed my PhD about a year ago. I always wanted to go to vet school, and my displeasure in academia is steering me back. I'm looking to pursue a small animal comparative oncology research/clinical position in my future.

My gpa for undergrad was reasonable (3.7) and the same for grad school (3.65). I took the GRE many moons ago but will need to re-take it (my scores were decent, 160 quant 163 verbal if I can recall).

I have a lot of diverse experience, but some feedback would definitely help. I'm shadowing at a number of clinics, including primary care, vet oncology, ER, critical care, and surgery. I'm also volunteering at the humane society and an equine rescue farm that rehabilitates abused horses. I have lab animal vet shadowing, as well as experience working with mouse models in my research. I'm trying to shadow some larger animal labs at work, but there's no guarantees. I think I can probably get to ~300 hours of shadowing at 300 of animal experience comfortably by app time, maybe more.

I also have a lot of mentoring experience and community outreach from grad school. Are there other types of useful experiences I should go after, or should I just try to maximize my shadowing and animal experience hours? I work a full-time job and shadow and volunteer when I am not working. I cannot do any international trips that cost thousands of dollars and require a bunch of time off. Does anyone have any useful feedback or tips for me? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Girl, you’ll be fine :biglove: