WAMC, Non Traditional Grad Student - Guidance appreciated:)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cavsiev

Reaction score
Hi all - I am a somewhat non-traditional 23-year-old student from AZ with a strong educational background in public health. I will be finishing my MPH next spring and would love some feedback on how things are looking for me. I was a Division I athlete through undergrad and sustained a pretty serious injury junior year, so I have one VERY bad semester (All D's and W's) on my transcripts that heavily weigh on my culm/science GPAs. I love public health and do intend on working in that field eventually.

My primary goal here is to figure out what schools are realistic for me to apply to, as I know some places value different things. I greatly appreciate all feedback on that, and really value the perspectives of others!

Cumulative GPA: 3.67 (Grad school & undergrad)
Science GPA: 3.64 (Will still have 2 prereqs in progress by the time I submit my application)
last 45: 3.86

Any degrees achieved
BS Public Health, minor in Health Sciences
Will graduate next spring with MPH & emphasis in Veterinary Public Health

GRE results: Q/V/W - did not take

Veterinary Experience:
  • Overnight ICU Technician in ECC teaching hospital: 2000 hrs
  • Small animal GP Technician: 3000 hrs
  • Shelter Med Surgical team (SA & Exotics): 160
Animal Experience:
  • Volunteer Barn Assistant at Equine facility: 50hrs
Research Experience:
  • Research project as an optional piece of class in which we investigated how people of low socioeconomic status are affected by regionally specific fungal infections. Included governmental database access approval, symposium presentation - About 80 hrs
Awards/scholarships:
  • Deans list x7
  • A variety of athletic awards that I go into greater depth on in my application
  • Athletic full ride
Extracurriculars:
  • Division I athlete in undergrad