Loupes for peds surgery

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EyeForDetail

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a first yr Ophthalmology resident. I bought a pair of very cheap loupes, they were suppose to have 2.5x Mag but probably only has 1.75-2x Mag. The working distance is decent at about 400mm.
My question is...will I be okay using them for strabismus surgery? The reason I didn't want to spend that much money on loupes is because I know I'm not going into Peds.
Comments would be appreciated. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

You'll also need them for plastics and minor-type procedures like chalazia, etc.

There are people out there who have done strab with a bifocal add....

You'll probably be fine but give yourself a test run by sitting down with them on and try tying 6-0 Vicryl on some chicken legs or something

Reactions: 1 user
I'm a first yr Ophthalmology resident. I bought a pair of very cheap loupes, they were suppose to have 2.5x Mag but probably only has 1.75-2x Mag. The working distance is decent at about 400mm.
My question is...will I be okay using them for strabismus surgery? The reason I didn't want to spend that much money on loupes is because I know I'm not going into Peds.
Comments would be appreciated. Thanks!

It may help if you adjust the fitting of the loupes. You want to make sure you're not over-accommodating (and setting the PD too narrow) and you want them to be parallel with your visual axis and as close to your face as possible. Eliminate as many refractive media as possible (did it come with a safety shield? take it off).