Living and finances in medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
Hello,
Hope you are all staying safe and healthy. I was recently accepted to a US medical school, and it has only been sinking in that I am actually going to be a medical student, embarking on the long journey of training to be a physician. A bit of background: I am a traditional student, 22 yo and graduated college in 2020. In undergrad, I saved a lot of money from living at home and working 15 - 20 hours weekly all four years. Because of that, I managed to graduate with minimum debt. I am well aware of the high cost of medical training, but I felt renewed pressure from evaluating more closely since I got my acceptance. I estimated that my loan would be ~130k (edit: should be ~230k) for the cost of education and living if I go to this school. I feel worried about my ability to pay it back efficiently, which is probably partly because of my relative inexperience with large amounts of student loans. I know I am unlikely to have time for a side job in medical school to support myself. I can do well with living on a budget, but I hope to learn more about the realities of medical training finances and what I can do as a student/resident to make this easier for my future self.
Current students/residents, how are you managing your finances living-wise and loan strategy-wise? For those of you who have graduated/finished paying off debt, do you have any advice?

Thanks!
-Flying Penguin

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
You will pay off that debt in no time, once you graduate, so don't worry. Concentrate on your classes. If you absolutely need to work for pay, there will be work-study jobs (like tutoring other medical students or working as a research assistant) or other jobs where you can pick up a shift once in a while (sitting with patients, doing phlebotomy).

Reactions: 1 users