Full explaination of VP shunts

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BushDoc20

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
been given the opportunity to watch a VP shunting procedure....i know barely anything about them as i'm an EM physician not Neuro so can someone please lead me to the procedures rundown from start to finish....i have a 5hr whirlybird flight and want some good reading material so i know what i'll be seeing/not seeing.....

Members don't see this ad.

been given the opportunity to watch a VP shunting procedure....i know barely anything about them as i'm an EM physician not Neuro so can someone please lead me to the procedures rundown from start to finish....i have a 5hr whirlybird flight and want some good reading material so i know what i'll be seeing/not seeing.....

Ventriculoperitoneal shunting (VPS) is a common neurosurgical procedure for cerebral spinal fluid (CSF) diversion. Typically, the indication is a form of hydrocephalus (obstructuve, normal pressure, pseudo tumor). There are also ventriculo atria/caval/pleural/cystic shunts that go to the heart, vena cava, lung, and bladder, respectively

The procedure itself, typically, takes less then 1 hour. Start to finish: