Dds/md

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
M

MSc44

ho all im new to the DENTAL forum and im sure this question has been asked before ........how does one go about getting a DDS/MD and being an OMFS.(with out going to med and dental school seperate) DO you go to dental school and then get an MD when you do your residency. IS there any advantage to doing this as opposed to just the DDS.
Can someone please explain

Members don't see this ad.

MSc44 said:
ho all im new to the DENTAL forum and im sure this question has been asked before ........how does one go about getting a DDS/MD and being an OMFS.(with out going to med and dental school seperate) DO you go to dental school and then get an MD when you do your residency. IS there any advantage to doing this as opposed to just the DDS.

I'll let the actual oral surgeons answer your question in-depth, but you are correct that you go to dental school and then obtain the MD as you do your post-grad training. Not all programs award an MD. Those than do are 6 years, those that don't are 4 years.

MSc44 said:
DO you go to dental school and then get an MD when you do your residency. IS there any advantage to doing this as opposed to just the DDS.

Yes, dental school first, residency second. You can do a 4 year single degree (DDS) OMS program or a 6 year dual degree (DDS,MD). The benefits of a DDS,MD are practicing plastic surgery in a state like California or becoming the chair of an OMS department at a dental school or hospital.

Generally the first year of residency is OMS. Years 2 and 3 (and sometimes part of 4) are med school. Years 4,5,6 are general surgery, anesthesia, and OMS.

party on.

Members don't see this ad :)