DAT Experience after two Attempts with Bootcamp and Booster

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Modern-Purveyor

Reaction score
Hey everyone! Hope the studying endeavors are going well! I recently took the DAT for the second time and wanted to share my experience in the hopes of helping anyone who might be struggling with the daunting process that is the DAT. A little background on myself. I graduated after the fall semester of 2022 with a degree in biology and a minor in chemistry and had a cumulative gpa of ~3.5. It was not until after graduating that I decided I wanted to pursue dentistry so preparing for the DAT was entirely new to me.

First Attempt

Study Timeline
Started studying around the end of April 2023 and was set to take the DAT towards the end of July 2023. This gave me about 2.5 months to study which seemed to be a pretty standard timeframe for many who had taken the test. Additionally, I was working part time while preparing.

Study Materials and Method
After some personal research I decided to use DAT Bootcamp. It had very positive reviews and was acknowledged for its informative Ochem video lessons (This was a major attraction for me since Ochem was not my strongest subject). This was the only study material I truly utilized. I tried to follow the study guide schedule that was provided, but found that the amount of material I was supposed to cover could often be overwhelming. I typically watched the video lessons and answered several practice questions for each subject. Additionally, I completed the first 5 practice tests by section and the last 5 as full length tests. Although I did not do everything assigned on the study guide, I still spent around 5+ hours studying daily. Throughout this process my average test scores were around an 18 but I was hoping to really show up on test day.

Scores
PAT - 18
QR - 19
RC - 25
BIO - 17
GC - 17
OC - 14
TS - 16
AA - 18

Post-Test