Crappy class rank, internally freaking out

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tanlemur

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a third year vet student who just found out that my class rank was 103/118... I have been kinda shocked, disappointed and embarassed so I haven't told anyone about this. The problem is I might want to get an internship and specialize in the future, anesthesia to be specific, but now it feels like this has all become just a dream that would never come true.
I understand that GPA and class rank isn't everything, but I do know some places that do grade cutoffs before going in deeper into the applicants' file. Obviously what has happened will not change, but I'm gonna try harder in the next semester before clinics start, so I can bump up my GPA as much as possible. Coming from a high-strung, extremely studious learning style in undergrad, I just felt like I didn't have the energy in me to study as hard in vet school. And it has caused significant strain on my personal relationships during the first semester, so I decided to priorituze life before grades, and got into the "C's get degress" mindset.
i don't mind doing GP work, but I would like to have the option to go do an internship at least. Does anyone have any other advice with this type of situation? My stressed and unhappy thoughts have started clouding my mind.

Members don't see this ad.