General Considering turning down MD/PhD for a PhD -> MD route

Status
Not open for further replies.

lord999

Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was accepted very early in this cycle to both an MD/PhD and a PhD in my current city with the lab I've been working in full-time for the past two years. My PI has made the PhD offer very tempting, and I have some reservations about the MD/PhD program. Second look weekend is coming soon, and I'd like advice on what things to look out for.

The PhD offer is from the institution I currently work at (city is also a major Sci/Tech hub). I have a guarantee from my PI to graduate in <4 years. My PI considers me as a graduate student (complete project autonomy, multiple projects, papers in prep, etc...). I enjoy my projects, my labmates are fantastic, and my PI is a good mentor. The PhD program director has been very supportive as well, and the particular training (computational/quantitative biology) is very much the style of thinking I enjoy. Both PI and PD know I want to be a physician scientist, and will help me with securing clinical collaborations/projects/connections in our affiliated med school. I also have volunteer leadership positions at an affiliated hospital + personal vested interest in growing our program. The major downsides are financials and having to report during re-application that I turned down an MD/PhD offer. The major upside is that I know I'll be happy here, and splitting the degrees gives me a bit of flexibility to move and take care of aging parent (a v. high personal priority) should something happen.