Canadian: University Application - HELP NEEDED!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Radiosonic

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am in a very tough academic situation. I am currently a Grade 11 student, going into Grade 12 after summer break and from grade 9-11 these are the courses I have taken and my average (listed below).

I was wondering if i would be able to get into in the United States/Canada for Biomedical Engineering:

I'm applying to these schools UCLA, Stanford, Princeton, University of Chicago, Yale ??? (as UCLA is my top choice)

In Canada, Queens, UofT St. George. ???

Please Let me Know is the universities in the United States and Canada I have chosen I have a chance to get accepted into?!

Grade 9 (avg: 87%)
French-81
Gym -92
Geography-85
Science-93
Math-88
Visual Arts-83
Information and Computer Tech. Business-85
English-85

Grade 10 (avg: 90%)
Math-90
Science-90
Gym-94
Civics-87.5
English-90
Canadian History-89
Introduction to Business-96
French-82

Grade 11 (avg: 89%)
Chemistry-89
Biology-90
Physics-85
Accounting-88
Religion-93
English-85
Ancient Civilizations History-85
Functions-90
Law-91

Grade 12

Data Management-90 (taken in grade 11)

Cumulative Average: 88.67%

Members don't see this ad.

This is a forum for medical school admissions. That said, it seems to me that you haven't done much research about applying to US schools or even Canadian schools.

For US schools at least, your school average is quite low for any of the schools listed. You would need an outstanding SAT/ACT score, good extracurriculars, and good personal statements to even be considered. For UofT, biomedical engineering is not a direct entry program from high school. You would have to go through engineering science and choose BME track in your third year, but engineering science is not advised if your end goal is medical school since it would most likely tank your GPAs.