Basic science research vs clincal research for med school applicants

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kcha95

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Long story short I am a current 4th year student in a 0 to 6 PharmD program. I completed a premed minor last year, and after much deliberation (see my previous posts if curious), I have decided to pursue medical school following graduation.

I am currently in the honors program and must decided on a faculty mentor to conduct a research project with. We have the option of choosing from faculty of both faculty and clinical science disciplines.

I was initially approached by one of our basic science faculty members earlier in the semester. His project revolves around the incidence of kidney stones with certain heavy metal exposures. We will primarily be working with cell cultures and fly models. I will have opportunities to perform various experiments and tests including cultures, assays, flowcytometry, etc.

More recently I have been talking with a clinical faculty member. I pursued him because he specializes in critical care, which is my main interest. I shared with him that I would like to become an anesthesiologist and he offered me shadowing opportunities at his site. He does not have an ongoing project but mentioned that if I choose to work with him the project will most likely involve retrospective analysis of a recently implemented protocol in the setting of the ICU.