American applying to Canadian meds school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yelloslugmarine

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I'm from California and I'm thinking about applying to the med school at U of British Columbia (besides applying for in-state meds schools).

What are the chances of my getting accepted? Do they take many Americans? I also know that MDs from another country are not taken as seriously in the US as a US MD. So would this mean I would have to stay in Canada to find good work?

More info: I'm an undergrad at UC Santa Cruz, haven't taken the MCAT, and have a 4.0 GPA.

thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Unless you have Canadian citizenship the chances of admission to UBC is virtually nil.

There are other Canadian schools which take foreign students like McGill.

You will be well-respected if you come from a Canadian school. They are all accredited by the LCME, and are thus equivalent to all US schools.

Good Point mooo...

Dalhousy also accepts lots of US citizens.
UBC sais zero international students... unless they changed that.. or I have it wrong.
UofT and McGill do accept US students.

But I should say that it is much harder to get into a Canadian school as a Canadian and especially a NON-Canadian!!!!

Members don't see this ad :)
Whew! Thanks tons guys. I'm pretty clueless about this sort of thing. :rolleyes:

I'll be happy to answer any Q's you might have about this process as I'm from CA as well and attended a Canadian med school...

McGill by far has the most US spots compared to any other Canadian institution... Dal and MUN have a few spots as well in addition to the others mentioned.. but more than most take virtually no US applicants if they have no Canadian ties or permanent resident status.

S

Surfer75 said:
I'll be happy to answer any Q's you might have about this process as I'm from CA as well and attended a Canadian med school...