Alternative Career with DPM?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Athroisi

Reaction score
Hello Everyone!

I am currently a podiatry student. After doing a week of rotation at a long-term care/assisted living/nursing home doing routine nail care, I am starting to consider alternative careers after graduating with a DPM. Particularly, I am considering a career as a lower extremity anatomy professor at med school/PA school/etc.

Any input would be appreciated.

Thank you,
Michael (Athroisi)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You can teach with a DPM degree but I don't see you completing it with your issues listed above.
If those issues are bothering you this much now then maybe consider dropping out and doing something else.
Disrespect? In medicine, you will have patients that will say thank you and some that will spit on you.
This is the reality.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
You went in completely misguided with false expectations.

If you can't even make it through routine foot care patients giving you sass, how are you going to survive 4th year or residency and some of the mudslinging that comes with it?

I highly recommend you do not waste your time accumulating more loans and find another route of employment. Consider an accelerated PhD if you want to teach at a university level.

You will not make it in any health profession if you are having problems right now.

Reactions: 1 users
How difficult would it be to find employment in acadamia without publications? Would 2 years (3rd and 4th year) of clinical experience compensate for lack of publications?

How difficult would it be to find employment in acadamia without publications? Would 2 years (3rd and 4th year) of clinical experience compensate for lack of publications?

Doubt it.

Ask your professors as well as professors from undergrad.