2022 OAT Breakdown (AA: 390)

Ryaad Asif

Reaction score
I took the OAT last week and was surprised to see my score! Here’s how I studied and found the actual exam:

Studying

I wrote the exam on August 31 after studying for 10 weeks. I was on summer break so I had no classes to worry about. I still kept my part-time job and maintained my volunteering commitments. I essentially just used OATBooster to study, and I can't recommend it enough.

I started with the Kaplan OAT Prep Plus 2021-2022 Textbook and found it hard to engage with. On the first day of studying, I took the Kaplan diagnostic test, which is pretty much all I got from the $100 resource. The monochrome textbook, with only a handful of practice questions after each chapter, wasn’t for me.

OATBooster appealed to me because of the number of practice questions and full-length exams it offers, but I later found its notes to be much more detailed than the Kaplan textbook too. Their videos are a blessing, and the formula and cheat sheets are essential to the later stages of studying. Still, the best part is that every practice question came with a thorough explanation and most had solution videos.

I loosely followed OATBooster’s 8-week study plan, and being a slow reader, I ended up studying for about 6 hours a day. As a sophomore, most of the content in the learning stage was a review of my intro courses. I highlighted the parts I was unfamiliar with to return to later. This significantly reduced the time I spent on the review stage. I found OATBooster’s cheat sheets and formula sheets incredibly helpful as they neatly organize everything that needs to be memorized in a few concise pages.

The Exam

Biology (400):