2006 graduate considering re-entry after being SAHM 10 years

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dwil75

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I graduated in 2006 (US medical school), and left my residency program without completing it (completed 1 year of pathology residency) in order to raise children. My husband (pathologist, graduate '05, currently practicing) and I are considering what it would take (or if it would even be possible) for me to re-enter medicine. The hospital he contracts with has both family medicine and internal medicine residency programs. I would be interested in entering one of those fields. It is a small community, and we know a lot of people here.
I am fairly certain I would need to take all steps of the USMLE again, as I left residency before completing step 3 :( . I had high scores on Step 1, 2 and passed CS previously, but I don't think that would count for anything now.
I would probably also need to find a physician willing to allow me to shadow them to refresh clinical experience while I am brushing up on book-knowledge and taking USMLE exams. We do have personal ties/physician friends/family members which would make this possible.
Has anyone done anything like this on their own after being a SAHM many years? Is it hopeless? (Our kids are still pretty young, and my husband's practice is here, so I am not interested in having to leave my state or paying a small fortune to attend a "retraining program" somewhere. I want to train locally and then practice locally - we live in a rural "under-served" community, if that makes any difference.)
Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello, I don't really have any advice but I wish you the best of luck on your journey back to medicine! You seem to have a solid network of people rooting for you and the resources to get it done.