WOW Cool MD student interested

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

oldpro

MS IV
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi I was a Hospice RN for 9 years and decided to go to Medschool, well Here I am in second year, miss the Patients so much, but look forward to clinicals soon.
I find the Hospice years have served me well and hope to be a Medical Director for a local Hospice on day. I'm going into FP and think this will be a good path.

Are there others on this road too?

Pallative care needs good people! :D

Hospice is about life not just the end of it, there is time inbetween.

:luck:

Members don't see this ad.

Glad to hear from you, oldpro. I'm a pre-pre-med (starting postbacc next fall, I hope) and a first-time hospice volunteer. Despite my minimal experience, I feel strongly about the importance of hospice and palliative medicine and would very much like to consider a career in this area.

I'm curious about why you decided to make the switch from nursing to doctoring within the hospice framework. I have had thoughts myself about becoming a medical director for a hospice, but recently I started to wonder what a medical director really DOES--i.e., isn't it primarily an administrative position? I'm not sure I want that. The hospice nurses seem to me to be the foundation of the care team; maybe that's where I should be... :confused: (Mind you, if I weren't considering hospice so strongly, I wouldn't be having this inner debate about nursing vs medicine--I'd go for the latter with its increased autonomy/responsibility--but in hospice, the boundary lines seem drawn differently. I just don't want to spend ten years and a small fortune in medical training only to realize at the end that I really should have been a nurse instead! :)

Sorry for the long post, but I'll appreciate any thoughts you have re. medical directors, hospice nurses, etc.