Will EMT Litigation ruin my Med School Chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Yagshemash

Reaction score
Hey everyone! I need some advice.

I work as an EMT. I recently got into an accident while driving the ambulance with a patient inside to the hospital. The patient was stable. It was the night shift and I was running ALS OPS so I had been driving most of the night. I fell asleep behind the wheel. No one got hurt thankfully, but the vehicle was pretty badly damaged.

There's a pretty good chance that the EMS company will get sued and obviously, I'd be implicated. I don't have to mention in my application why my employment ended if I do get fired (I haven't heard back yet) but I'm worried that medical schools will see that I got sued. Will this ruin my chances of getting into medical school? Do med schools look into things like this? I just don't want to be barred from health care for this.

Members don't see this ad.

When I was applying there wasn't anything that required me to answer "have you been sued...or civil action against you"

If this results in you losing your license, that might come back to haunt you when you credential, but I doubt it will permanently stop you.

If they come after your criminally, that's where you might be in trouble. Let's hope that doesn't happen!!

Reactions: 1 user
You are most likely fine regardless of if you get fired or not. Chances of you individually getting sued are going to be slim. If the company gets sued it isn’t even remotely your problem.

When I was applying there wasn't anything that required me to answer "have you been sued...or civil action against you"

If this results in you losing your license, that might come back to haunt you when you credential, but I doubt it will permanently stop you.

If they come after your criminally, that's where you might be in trouble. Let's hope that doesn't happen!!