Why go into pharmacy if it's saturated?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

• Total voters

PharmtoCS

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Ya know, I spoke with a few classmates recently and if we could choose a career again, not many of us would choose pharmacy again. Some were happy with their situation, and if they could follow the exact same path they would.

However the overwhelming consensus was that if we were graduating high school this year we would not do prepharmacy now.

Can you add "I am Asian" to the list? :shifty:

• Haha
Reactions: 7 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I'm not a student, but I was so I voted on what I believed when I used to be a student.

You should add "I did no research in the field and don't know it's saturated" and "my school told me all of their grads find jobs"

Reactions: 9 users
You should add "I did no research in the field and don't know it's saturated" and "my school told me all of their grads find jobs"

Those statistics that they post seem completely made up.

Those statistics that they post seem completely made up.
Because

1) They count residency/fellowship/per diem/part time job placement as “found a job”

2) They only get this information from surveying their new grads/alumni so there is massive nonresponse bias. If you are an unemployed new grad you are probably going through some combination of regret, remorse, anger and shame — are you really going to fill out a survey and report back to your school that you are unemployed?

Reactions: 4 users
^ exactly. Those who end up unemployed aren’t going to announce to the world that they couldn’t find a job.

Those who were hoping for a clinical or industry job but ended up getting stuck in retail are probably also too embarrassed to let others know.