Where to get Fred cases and Inka protocol

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ripudaman Singh

Reaction score
1. Where do we get 6 FRED cases for step 3 exam preparation ?
Do we need to buy it online subscription basis ?
Or is it a book ?

2. What is Inka protocol (for test ordering) used for step 3 exam preparation?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
My step 2 and 3 experience

I am old medical grad 2010 from India, accepted a prematch offer in IM this year. I studied step 1 for 14 months and got 235 in March 2022 and I wanted to apply for 2023 match.

FRED cases

Inka protocol
I used the mnemonic "ABCD IBU POT MRT PEDAL" in CCS
Age Gender - write it down
Brainstorming - write down every idea (what to order not D/D) while reading the initial presentation!
Consults
Diagnostic steps
Imaging
Bloodwork
Urine
Pregnancy test
Others: ECG, EEG, CSF
Treatment of pain and nausea - before knowing the diagnosis
Monitoring
Routine: CBC, CMP, PT/PTT, IVA, NSS 0.9%
Treatment - after knowing the diagnosis
Prevention: cancer screening, vaccines
Exercise
Diet
Avoid: smoking, EtOH, drugs
In emergency cases I always order: ABC before PE
Air: Oxygen saturation q1h + Oxygen tx
Blood pressure q1h
Cardiac monitor q1h
for surgery prep NICE PT:
NPO, NSS
Informed consent
Cefazolin
ECG
PT/PTT
T&C
for admitted pts ADMI CON:
Activity: Bedrest
Diet: NPO, diabetic
Meds: Heparin
Intake & Output
Compression stockings
Omeprazol
Nasogastric tube
I used my break time in between the MCQ blocks to write out all my mnemonics on my scrap paper. This helped a LOT! I did not order everything for each case of course. Just checked my mnemonic at the end of each order sheet to see if I did not forget any pertinent order.