What do I say if I haven't shadowed a DO?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medtraveler19

Reaction score
I have an interview coming up with a DO school and I have no direct experience observing a DO physician. What is something I could say if they ask why DO?

Members don't see this ad.

Say you are actively trying to find one to shadow or ideally have already found one to shadow, I say this only as someone who got into DO school this past year. With that being said I had 6 DO interviews last year and there wasn’t a single one where exposure and familiarity with osteopathic principles wasn’t asked about.

Last edited:
  • Love
Reactions: 1 user
Say you are actively trying to find one to shadow or ideally have already found one to shadow, I say this only as someone who got into DO school this past year. With that being said I had 6 DO interviews last year and there wasn’t a single one where exposure and familiarity with osteopathic principles wasn’t asked about.
I am familiar with the osteopathic principles, just very little exposure to it

Members don't see this ad :)
You can find DOs to shadow online too. There’s old recordings on YouTube from web shadowing during the pandemic. Not ideal but would at least give you something to use as a talking point.

Reactions: 1 users
You should shadow a DO. You can also read articles and watch interviews online from AACOM, AOA, SOMA, and other Osteopathic medicine organizations. A few of us can suggest books.

Reactions: 1 user
Well, why didn't you shadow a DO? Your answer will usually be in there.
due to spending a lot of time in the hospital from the age of 11-20, I didn't feel like I needed to shadow doctors since I spent much time observing how they treated other patients and me. I thought it was more than enough exposure. I barely shadowed an MD doctor and it was only because I felt like I needed to in the case for med school apps.