What classes should I take to best prepare for the MCAT? + MCAT date?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PremedHopeful123

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a current sophomore looking to apply to medical school in the summer of 2025. By the end of this year, I'll have completed Gen Chem 1+2, Ochem 1+2, Bio 1+2, Psych, Human Phys, and Physics 1. Right now, I'm figuring out which classes to take next semester. I plan on taking biochem, genetics, and physics 2 as of right now. I also have the option to add cellular biology. Would it be worth it to add cellular biology to this course load? My worry is that I will be overwhelmed with MCAT prep and biochem, genetics, physics 2 already (along with other non-MCAT prereq classes and research credit).

Additionally, any recommendation for MCAT test dates for next year?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I found neuroscience to be very helpful personally

Reactions: 1 user
Physics II, Philosophy or literature might give you exposure to more reading which could help with CARS, Sociology would be very beneficial.

Members don't see this ad :)
In your Bio 1+2 did you cover a lot of the topics in cell bio? Cross reference the MCAT syllabus and see if you've already seen those.

My personal recommendation is 4 stem classes is A LOT and not ideal

Physics II, Philosophy or literature might give you exposure to more reading which could help with CARS, Sociology would be very beneficial.
I actually have taken a philosophy and literature courses already. I omitted those because I didn't know they'd be of any help on the MCAT. Thanks!

In your Bio 1+2 did you cover a lot of the topics in cell bio? Cross reference the MCAT syllabus and see if you've already seen those.

My personal recommendation is 4 stem classes is A LOT and not ideal