What are my chances of acceptance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

prevet1265

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I've been thinking about my grades recently and was wondering if you could help figure out my chances of getting accepted into vet school and if I should continue on the pre-vet track or think about switching my major. I'm currently a first-semester sophomore and my GPA right now is 3.531. I got a B in Gen Chem 1 and a C in Gen Chem 2 last year. I am currently in organic chemistry and it's looking like I might get a C but will probably get a D in which case I would have to retake it. I am also in Bio 1 right now and will probably get a B but have a small chance of getting an A if I perform really well on the final. My final GPA this semester will probably be around 3.2-3.3. I am hoping to go to Auburn but with my grades, I'm wondering if any vet school will take me because from how bad my grades are now I can only imagine that they will be worse in Organic 2, Bio 2, and Biochem. Any thoughts? Should I continue with pre-vet or change my major? What are my chances of being accepted with these grades?

Members don't see this ad.

As a first-time vet school applicant, I don't feel particularly well-equipped to tell you what your chances are, especially since you don't include any other factors (vet experience, animal experience, leadership, etc.) and a lot of your questions involve hypothetical future grades. The one comment I'll make is that Auburn apparently calculates and considers four different GPAs, two of which are science (one seems to be general science and the other is comprised of Organic, Biochem, and Physics). A quick glance at the stats I have only provides averages of admitted students for overall GPA (3.6) and science GPA (3.5), but that might give you a general idea of how you'd probably like to be doing.