WAMC/School List Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

penguin05

Reaction score
Hello all! This is my first time applying for medical school (2024-2025 cycle) and will be applying only allopathic ~25 schools. No Texas schools. Got a committee letter from my undergrad university - includes strong letters from both directors of my majors, letter from my hospice volunteer coordinator, letter from primatologist (love her she's so cool). Planning to get a separate letter from my boss (MD) later down the road. Please let me know what schools you guys would suggest I should apply to/offer any advice on what to do in my gap year. I plan to continue my hospice and senior home volunteering alongside my job + shadowing. I'm not really aiming for academic medicine and would like to serve the elderly population. Primary care isn't off the table but I would really like to do neurology. Surgery is awesome so I want to continue exploring that avenue. Any help will be greatly appreciated :)

cGPA: 3.94 sGPA: 3.90
MCAT: 515 (128/128/129/130)

GA resident
ORM: Asian F
T30 undergrad - Private - Neuroscience and Music double major

Work experience:
Internal medicine clinical research assistant: 120 hours (2000 hours projected); 1.5 years w/ projected time
I'm currently a recruiter who calls patients and go over their medical histories and figure out which study they would be best fit for - learning phlebotomy and have been shadowing coordinators during their visits - I got hired a little more than a month ago and there will be a lot of room to grow in the future...definitely going to try to count this as clinical experience since I care/enjoy working with the patients more

Clinical volunteering:
Hospice volunteer: 120 hours (200 more hours projected); 3 years w/ projected time
I got a lot of good experience giving companionship and respite care and including a story in my PS