WAMC/School list (3.1 cGPA, 3.5 sGPA, 510 MCAT, Gap year, URM)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

grown

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am unsure of what schools I want to apply to so any school list is greatly appreciated! I have all IS and HCBUs so far. I do not mind where I apply but prefer MD. This is my first application cycle and I am really new to everything. I am scared that my GPA and clinical experience could hold me back. Should I try and find more clinical experience or clinical volunteering? Should I try and go DO? I am applying early this cycle. I appreciate any general advice too. Thank you. And for good luck @Goro @Faha @Mr.Smile12
  1. cGPA and sGPA as calculated by AMCAS or AACOMAS
    1. 3.1 cGPA | 3.5 sGPA / first two years low, last two years high ; upward trend, last two years A's and 3 B's, retook all bad grades for A's
    2. Can easily articulate poor first two years.
  2. MCAT score(s) and breakdown. Include all (non-voided) attempts.
    1. 510
    2. 127 | 124 | 128 | 131
  3. State of residence or country of citizenship (if non-US)
    1. TN (applying) & AR (strong ties)
  4. Ethnicity and/or race
    1. Black or African American (specifically Nigerian, first generation immigrant), Male
  5. Undergraduate institution or category
    1. Public school in TN
  6. What is your purpose as a physician?
    1. App is centered around serving my underserved community and educating patients here. PS revolves on role strain as an immigrant with different cultures
    2. I want to serve in an underserved community. City or rural is fine. Balancing between primary care or complex surgery.
  7. Clinical experience (volunteer and non-volunteer)
    1. Volunteer
      1. Maybe ~20 hours. Volunteered at ER but wasn't significant. Desk work. I am thinking of volunteering at our local med (if y'all believe I need more hours)
    2. Non-volunteer -