MD & DO WAMC: Older Non-trad - Where to focus my efforts?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

redmustardseed

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Older non-trad applying 2022-2023 cycle.
As you'll see below, a lot rides on my MCAT scores, which I'm studying for now. I tend to test well and I truly took the practice not having thought much about these subjects in more than 20 years just to get a baseline and wet my whistle.

****I especially need help figuring out a strategy as an older non-trad with a lot of clinical experience in advanced practice and nursing.
I need advice about:

- LORs in my situation - do I actually ask professors who taught me decades ago? My undergraduate research employer wrote me a beautiful letter for grad school but this was so long ago - she probably hardly remembers me.

My 2 recent graduate courses were in nursing, online, and honestly quite terrible although I received easy As. I do not trust these professors to write complete sentences let alone influential letters. I have a few MDs that I've consulted/collaborated with that I can ask letters of.

- Shadowing - I have none but have docs I can ask. How many hours do I need? Do I need LORs from separate docs than the ones I shadow?

- Since my courses are so old but my science GPAs were excellent, how important is it to take courses? For example, I took Orgo I & II with lab but never Biochem. Never microbio (but had in nursing school as part of other courses). Never intro psych but had nursing psych and have done some courses at a mental health institute not part of a university - do I include a letter from one of those professors?

- Should I do a 1 year master's or post-Bacc? Only 1 to 2 semesters of grades would be in by the time of my applications, but will it help my application for schools to know I'm doing one since my degrees are old?

- Volunteering - please read what I wrote below and give advice!