WAMC - help for comm-serve oriented schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

responsible_cookie

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! My school list could really use some help. I'd really appreciate if you could recommend me some schools that would be in my target range for applying!
I graduated in 3 years, and am going to Americorps next year!
  • Major in Biology and Society (1 major)
  • Asian Female, in Michigan
  • Cumulative GPA: 3.78
  • Science GPA: 3.71
    • I had a U-shaped trend, where my sophomore year I got a few B's.
  • MCAT Scores: 518

• Research:
    • Evolutionary Bio research (1 year, junior-> present)
      • 2 papers drafted for publication (1st author on both) and 1 poster presentation (cancelled by COVID). My research was given the highest award by my school's undergraduate research program this year.
    • Cell Biology research on (2 years, freshman->sophomore)
      • No publications. Became the lab manager my sophomore year.
  • Volunteering (clinical) – include hours/sites: 1000~ hrs total (3 years)
    • 300 hours a Certified Nurse Assistant (CNA) in a free clinic for patients without health insurance. I worked as a nurse in the clinic (taking blood glucose, urine tests, A1C, etc).
    • 700 hours at VA hospital (200 in endoscopy and 500 at the front desk pushing wheelchairs)
  • Physician shadowing – include hours/specialties: 35 hours
    • 15 official hours in different departments of nephrology (ICU, INU, Acute) & 20 hours in primary care
  • Non-clinical volunteering: 550 hours total
    • 320 hours volunteering at an elementary school as Pre-K teacher's assistant. I worked specifically with the kids with disabilities throughout the day.