DO WAMC for DO (3.9 cGPA, 3.86 BCPM, 500 MCAT)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jeanditt

Reaction score
Hi all! I’ve been going back and forth on whether I should apply this upcoming cycle to DO schools. My MCAT is a 500 with unbalanced subsections (123 CP, 127 CARS, 123 BB, 127 PS). I’m nervous to retake for risk of doing worse or similar. My cGPA is a 3.91 and BCPM GPA is 3.86. I’m a CA resident and would love to stay here.

I have 1 MD letter, 4 professor letters, and 1 volunteer manager letter. I have 60+ hrs shadowing, 170 hrs medical scribing, 1500+ hrs clinical volunteering, different non-clinical jobs, a semester of genetics zoology research, but no concrete leadership experience.

Will my application be thrown out due to my 2 123s? Is it worth applying this upcoming cycle?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You could receive interviews at some DO schools with a MCAT of 500 and I suggest these:
TUNCOM
ATSU-SOMA
BCOM (all schools)
UIWSOM
Noorda-COM
RVU-Montana
Touro-Montana
ICOM
KHSC-COM
ARCOM
NYIT-AR
BUCOM
WCU-COM
VCOM (all schools)
ACOM
PCOM (all schools)
LMU-DCOM
LECOM (all schools)
OCOM
UP-KYCOM
WVSOM
MU-COM
DUQCOM
Apply in June and submit all your secondaries by July.

You could receive interviews at some DO schools with a MCAT of 500 and I suggest these:
TUNCOM
ATSU-SOMA
BCOM (all schools)
UIWSOM
Noorda-COM
RVU-Montana
Touro-Montana
ICOM
KHSC-COM
ARCOM
NYIT-AR
BUCOM
WCU-COM
VCOM (all schools)
ACOM
PCOM (all schools)
LMU-DCOM
LECOM (all schools)
OCOM
UP-KYCOM
WVSOM
MU-COM
DUQCOM
Apply in June and submit all your secondaries by July.
Thank you for the advice! Do you know if any of these schools have strict subsection cutoffs. I’m having trouble finding which ones do but know that almost every MD school won’t consider any sections below a 124/125.

Members don't see this ad :)