Wait for US school or go to Australia?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chury

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys!
I have a "small" problem. I came to the US only 4 years ago. I graduated with overall
3.54, science 3.53. I went to college while working a full time job at a night shift at a
major medical institution in NYC. (laboratory technician). ( worked from 40-60
hours per week ). Also, I commuted 4 hours each day!

Now, I took the April MCAT. I scored 6 in Verbal because I could not finish all
passages. (did not finish about 18 questions) English is my second language which I
have started learning only 5 years ago.

I was sure that the US medical schools would eliminate me as soon as they see my
verbal score. However, I still decided to apply to many schools.

I also applied to an Australian medical school. In Australia there are only 10 medical schools. I think that Australian medical schools have an excellent 4 year program which is very similar to one in the US.

They accept only 25 international students per year and 55 Australians.(80 per year).
Curriculum is pure PBL (Problem-based learning). And yes, they want your MCAT
scores and require at least score of 8 in each section and M in writing in order to get
an interview(they interview you in Chicago, NYC, and LA). (USMLE passing rate for
this school: step 1 95%. step 2 99%).

As you can see, according to their rules I would not make their initial cut.
Nonetheless, they accepted me immediately. They were very impressed with my
credentials and they also understood the circumstances behind my verbal reasoning
score.

The school in Australia starts on February 7 because Australia is in the Southern
Hemisphere.
What should I do? I had two interviews here in the US. One is with an average med.
school, and the other is with the top school.