Which School? (For my circumstances listed)

• Total voters

msyato

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, to start off, I will hopefully be attending college this Fall. So far I've received admittance to some schools, in particular VCU. I am a California resident and also applied to UC schools, which I hear from in March. The point is, I want to know would it be worth it for me to choose VCU over any UC school I get accepted to for the following reasons:
- I got accepted to VCU for Psych and BME (I got recruited later for BME)
- I received a Trustee Level Scholarship of $7000 per year if I attend as a BME student (I will most likely get Financial Aid, I do not know yet how much)
- VCU has their Guaranteed Admissions program which I can try applying for
- VCU has close connections with MCV and EVM (or so I've heard)
- VCU BME program offers internships as early as freshman year at hospitals (I have not heard any UC school do that thus far)
- It is said 94% of BME students at VCU get accepted to Medical School

This is what I have so far for UC schools:
- Applied generally to all schools as Psych major, and one Public Health
- Applied to UCB, UCI, UCSD, UR, UCD
- GPA not that great, I am effy on the top tier UC schools, I have hope though
- I got Cal Grant, so I will practically go to school for free if I attend any public Cal school

Overall, my question may seem kind of ridiculous, with the fact that I am comparing UC schools to VCU. I am doing this for a couple of reasons. One, I've heard UC schools deflate grades. I know many family friends who are jobless after attending a UC school. I feel as though with the BME program at VCU, I will gain a lot of experience I will not at a UC, not for social life, but for academics and my future career. I would like to hear from you guys and your opinions! So far I am leaning towards VCU.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello!