Valid reason to request deferral?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mstpgrind

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a recently admitted med student.

My ultimate goal is to go to med school, but I'd like to graduate with as little debt as possible. I also got a job offer in a lucrative field (think software engineering, investment banking, etc.) and can make $260k next year.

Is it a valid reason to request a deferral for medical school for a year to make money? It'd be about $120k that I could save after taxes/expenses, which is a huge amount for me and covers nearly all my tuition cost.

Edit: Also, I don't want to get into the discussion about "if you have a 260k offer right now, why go to med school at all." I've decided that I want to go to med school, I just don't want the crushing debt that most students have.

Members don't see this ad.

Congrats on the acceptance and job!

Deferrals are not given easily and are school dependent. Valid reasons typically include taking care of a sick family member or being a recipient of a prestigious scholarship (Fulbright, Rhodes). It would be difficult to get a deferral to work for a year.

Good luck!

Last edited:
Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)
You can certainly ask, but don't be surprised if they say no. Also, don't forget the opportunity cost associated with starting school a year later. Depending on your specialty choice it may ultimately prove more lucrative to start sooner.

• Love
Reactions: 6 users
You can certainly ask, but don't be surprised if they say no. Also, don't forget the opportunity cost associated with starting school a year later. Depending on your specialty choice it may ultimately prove more lucrative to start sooner.
That’s fair, I’ll probably send them an email soon.

Sure, but I would argue that the mental relief associated with not having debt is worth much more/invaluable.

Reactions: 1 user