Usuhs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CliffC911

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know this is a forum for Military Residencies, but I expect you are the best people to ask my question. I am a second year student at Dickinson College with a 3.45 GPA who has been a PA certified EMT for the past 3 years. After countless hours on website such as this one, I am absolutely convinced that USUHS is my best option. What can I do to make myself a more desirable applicant specifically to USUHS? Would ROTC give me an edge? Any suggestions on where to go next would help me a great deal. Is it possible to visit this early and express my interest?

Thanks,
Military MD-wannabe

Members don't see this ad.

The most important thing you can do is keep studying to keep your GPA up & do well on the MCAT - if you're competative at other med schools, you'll be competative at USUHS.

If you're interested in an ROTC scholarship, by all means pursue it - but don't do it just to make yourself look good for USUHS. There's no guarantee that your service will let you go to med school - even if you have the grades & MCATS. If they need "x" number of line officers - they're going to fill those positions first. That was the main reason I didn't do ROTC - a good friend had to be a surface warfare officer for a year before he was allowed to attend med school.

Many ROTC programs will have courses available to non-scholarship students - try one of these out, get to know the instructor & get a letter of rec. I'm sure the letter I got from a USMC Officer was extremely helpful in my getting a Navy Scholarship.

Hope that helps.

How importat are LORs to USUHS?

Members don't see this ad :)