US vs Aus?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

adtivy

Reaction score
Hi all, first time poster -- having scoured the forums for a similar dilemna and found nothing decided to ask for advice here :) Hope this is an acceptable sort of post?

I'm an Australian-American dual citizen; lived in both, currently in Australia (finishing up HS; grades 7-12 done here so to an American college I'm an international student but eligible for federal aid). I'm very passionate about medicine and have made up my mind that it's the career I want. If you're about to give me a reason I shouldn't pursue medicine, I've already heard it. That's not what I'm here for. My dilemna is whether I should study here in Australia or return to the US. Considerations as follows:

Australia:
- Not taking HS chem, which some med programs want. Not the end of the world however it does narrow my options marginally.
- Feel very confined here. There is not a huge range of options available.
- If I train as an Australian doctor, going to the US to practice is extremely difficult as you have to sit USMLE and undergo an American residency. Getting American residency as an Australian doctor is also difficult to begin with. I really struggle to see myself in Australia forever.

+ Admission will not be an issue. Current predicted ATAR is 99.7, EAS + EAP bring selection rank up to 99.95 & make me a good early entry candidate.
+ Natural and easy path for me to take. About 30-40% of my school's graduating cohort goes into some sort of medical field.
+ Cheaper.
+ Really appreciate Medicare etc & its role in the public health system

USA:
- More expensive. Not world-endingly problematic but still important consideration. Not going into med for the money.
- Leaving behind friends & family!
- Will be a slightly longer and harder path